Smashed it!

Andrew and I ran our usual 8k loop around the creek this morning -the plan called for an easy 8k run. We started off slowly with the first 2k at around 5:45min/k pace although I did mention to Andrew that it felt a lot slower.

The loop (counterclockwise) starts with a relatively flat 2.5k then about 500m downhill before a punishing 1.2k hill that rises about 35m – according to the Garmin – I’m sure people will worship “The Garmin” in years to come after all it has to be a better religion than scientolgy!

From 4.2k to the finish it’s all downhill. At about 6k Andrew asks if we’ve ever run this in under 5:30min/k and I reply in the negative. Reason being that we chat a lot and have never really concerned ourselves with the times. Somehow today was different – there was no communication re this until the 6k mark but I think we both felt really good. It wasn’t that we stopped talking, it was more that we were more comfortable with the faster pace – I’ll put that down to the recent intervals and fartleks – maybe they do work! We didn’t just beat 5:30min/k’s , we smashed it- 5:21min/k.

In the end we both agreed that it was a really good workout and were pleased with our progress.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Smashed it!

  1. ajh says:

    Not sure why, but my Garmin said 5:24, you must have run faster than me! A good effort this morning!

  2. twocatz says:

    Good work, a great run today.

Leave a Reply

