Fartleks & Week 2

You know when you have a day off running and can’t wait for the next day? – well today or this morning was one of those days when I had a day off and could wait forever for the fartleks.

Same company (Andrew), same place, same time, different exercise – If I thought the fartleks where going to be easier than last week’s intervals, I was in for a rude awakening:

A fifteen minute gentle run followed by 4:30min/k’s  for 5 minutes then 4 then down to 1. Again if it wasn’t for Andrew’s presence the second sprint would have ended well before 4 minutes – I was knackered. I soldiered on and it got a lot easier and we managed all but one of the first four sprints in under 4:30min/k and the final 1 minute sprint in under 4 min/k.

We still had plenty of time for a chat in between the sprints and amazingly we never once mentioned the death of OBL – I for one question the actual methodology that the US seals employed and believe that even scum like him at least deserve a fair trial although I don’t know the circumstances and probably never will.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fartleks & Week 2

  1. morseyruns says:

    I agree about OBL- it would have been good to bring him in alive- but if it was a question of defending their lives, maybe they had no choice but to shoot him. I guess only those in the room will ever be able answer that question. Nice work on the fartlek!

  2. ajh says:

    I respect the military skill to get in their and get their man, and think he deserves what he finally got, but cannot see the need to celebrate in the streets like we saw in the USA. I think that he is best forgotten about to be honest, I fear though that we will be reminded about him by some further tragic action.

  3. twocatz says:

    The fall of one is the rise of another,in the case of OBL I can only see a bad ending. The rise will be accompanied with an increase in vitriol to prove the replacement is worse than the predecessor.

Leave a Reply

