Week 1 Done & Dusted

Last day of week 1 called for a 15k relaxed run. Andrew and I were to give Gellibrand Hill a go until Andrew had to cancel.

So instead of my run this morning, I took the boys to swimming and decided to do my run in the afternoon so I can get used to running in some heat., after all not many races are conducted at 6:00am – unfortunately!

The boys wanted to go to the park so they dropped me off at the Maribyrnong river, did a spot of shopping and met me back near where I started. It was a balmy 20c and overcast without any breeze so I planned to have short walk breaks every 2.5k.

This was a new route for me and I was surprised at some of the stunning views and houses that line the river as you near the Flemington Racecourse – I’ll certainly run the route again.

As mentioned earlier in the week; April was my third consecutive month of 100k or more. The scary thing is because of the half training plan, May ramps up to 178k – only another 163 to go!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Week 1 Done & Dusted

  1. ajh says:

    Sounds like you had a better run than I did! Maybe we should run that course, it’s reasonably flat isn’t it? You were right to fear the word Hill in Gellibrand Hill, it was much hillier than I thought it would be.

  2. It’s very flat apart from 2 monsters – 1 at Riverside park and 1 just after Flemington Racecourse. With a couple of extensions we can do the same route and still get to about 20k – all the way down to docklands.

  3. twocatz says:

    Hills = speed work in drag

  4. Cilla says:

    well done, Alex!

  5. bearrunner says:

    Great run! I enjoy running in the afternoon in the summer months. I like the heat and the sun 🙂

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

