Can’t I Just Run?

For those that know me will attest that I over analyse everything and that includes my running.

Andrew and I having been running now for a few months and we’d agree that we’re roughly the same pace. That’s the problem!

Are we? and on any given day? Whilst I look forward to and enjoy running with Andrew, I find myself continually thinking:

  • Am I running too fast for him?
  • Is he slowing up for me?

Today we set off at a comfortable pace and gradually increased the tempo to the point that I felt it was the most pleasing run the two of us has had. But knowing Andrew has run a lot faster is always at the back of mind.

In the end I came to the conclusion that if either of us needed to slow up we’d communicate and if we didn’t the other would drag the other along. A win/win.

I need to learn to just run and not worry about stuff that doesn’t need worrying about.

Rest day tomorrow and then a 5k Saturday and the 15k long run with Andrew on Sunday around Gellibrand Hill.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Can’t I Just Run?

  1. ajh says:

    Don’t worry, I’m definitely not slowing up for you! If I ever feel like I want to go faster or slower I will definitely tell you. I will say one thing though, on race day July 17th I think I will be putting in my iPod and running my own race. But for training, I’m loving doing it together, so much better than on your own!

  2. JH says:

    Rule 1.16 of the runner’s rule book might help: The open-ended question is your friend. Ask AJH an open ended question and let him talk for 10 minutes while you catch your breath.

  3. twocatz says:

    Worry free running is just the best. Let someone else decide the route and set a sensible pace. All you then have to do is put one foot in front of the other and repeat and enjoy the run.

  4. morseyruns says:

    I am with John! Start with something like “So, tell me about growing up in (insert town of birth here)?” and letting it go.
    I struggle to run with other people for the same reason- my mate Vic jogs up and down on the spot when I stop to walk- how humiliating!

Leave a Reply

