Regrets, I’ve had a few…

But then again, too few to mention!

This morning was the second day of our (Andrew & mine)  twelve week plan for the Run Melbourne half.

This morning’s interval training had me at two “regrets”:

  1. I let Andrew talk me into his training plan, which looked hard enough without times
  2. I also let him convince me that 4:30min/k’s would be acceptable??

My silence until this morning was confirmation of my acceptance. 1000m is a bloody long way when you’re trying to run it fastish and within 500m I was ruing my silence and puffing like a one lunged smoker. The rest break between the runs was only 90 seconds – how quick does that go?

Whilst we both had a Garmin on, mine was set up for the intervals and I had no idea of the pace, whereas Andrew knew the pace but not the distance. All four intervals felt incredibly slow and I was expecting close to 5:00min/k’s.

Pleased to see that we only missed out by 10 seconds and each k was within 4 seconds of each other. The warm up was supposed to be 15 minutes but I forgot to start the watch for the first 9 minutes!

All in all it was a hard session and I can reflect that if it wasn’t for Andrew I would probably have adjusted the times to make it easier for me. So thanks again mate -the planner is perfect!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Regrets, I’ve had a few…

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Remember, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger! Good effort this morning!

  2. Twocatz says:

    You are in a great pair of hands training with Andrew. It’s so much easier training with someone who has been therefore and will keep you on the straight and narrow.

  3. morseyruns says:

    It sounds like Andrew might push you out of your comfort zone with this training- nice going!

Leave a Reply

