Easter Sunday

I had to go for my run super early this morning to ensure I got home before the kids woke up and to check where the Easter bunny had left all the eggs.

Alarm goes off at 5:00am and it takes me 33 minutes to get ready, don’t ask me why, it just does. I set off on a new route that had me climbing 39 meters in the first 4k’s and it felt like it. Was relieved to hit the flat of Camp Road which lasted about 1.5k’s before a nice descent all the way home. The difference in my splits, certainly show this; almost 20 seconds per k slower in the first 5k.

I missed my run yesterday as I was too dehydrated from Friday’s overindulgence; too many pineapple fritters, ice cream and alcohol.

Tomorrow is the start of my training plan for the “Run Melbourne” half marathon. Don’t you just love plans that have a rest day on the very first day?

If all goes to plan I will have run 100k’s or greater in each of the last three months – I’m sitting on 85k at the moment and missed 10 days of running with a cold midway through the month, so I’m quite pleased with myself.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Easter Sunday

  1. JH says:

    That’s odd. Tomorrow is the first day of my training program too.

  2. morseyruns says:

    It takes me forever to get ready in the morning too- and I have my clothes all laid out ready to go! I think it is because when you are trying to be quiet everything takes longer?

  3. ajh says:

    I think my rest is going to be a long bike ride! Did you want to try and do Tuesday morning together or do you think for the faster days might be better on our own?

    Happy Easter by the way!

  4. sassydrcil says:

    Got any strength training in there?
    Well done on the run. Hope you are nice and pain free!

Leave a Reply

