Tunnel of Pain

Yesterday I was driving on the Monash, just before the tunnel (city bound) when it occurred to me that I’d be running (Run 4 The Kids) in the Domain tunnel in two days time. I travel through both tunnels (Burnley & Domain) on a regular basis and know that in each you’re on the brakes for the first few hundred metres to ensure that you keep under the speed limit and then it’s a fairly steep and long incline to the end.

So yesterday I measured it – the beginning of the tunnel is about 1.3k’s after the start (14.3k run) and is a nice 500m downhill. Now the bad news – the uphill part which also includes the some of Westgate Freeway is about 1.6k’s – that’s a real tough start to 14.3k’s.

Due to my cold I’ve only managed two runs in the past eleven days – 9k on Thursday and 6k this morning:

Really surprised when I got home because I thought I was doing it relatively easy. This generally means I’m going to suffer tomorrow!

Andrew and I will be running together and he has nominated that he’d be happy with 5:30 minute k’s – that’s 78:39 minutes all up, I’ll take that!

See some of you at the Transport – if you’re running have fun.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

