Return of the Mind Games

I awoke this morning at the ridiculous time of 4:00am which is supposed to 5:00am – daylight saving finished this morning.

I started to get ready for my run when I felt a pain in my right chest area -was I having a heart attack or is it a pulled muscle? I then spent the next hour fighting with myself as to whether I should go for my run or not.

In the end I read a few inspirational quotes and Sara’s blog which convinced me to go. After all if she can do 100k in a day, surely I could manage 10? Sara that is just an amazing effort -I applaud you.

I keep telling myself that because my run with Andrew on Tuesday morning’s is slowish (5:50’s min/k), I’d treat it as my easy run for the week, which I used to do on Sundays. However regardless of the speed, chatting whilst running for the whole 8k is anything but easy. That said I decided to make this morning’s run an easy run, just in case I was having a heart attack!

It wasn’t easy and it wasn’t hard, just a nice comfortable run at an amazing pace – I’m  just so happy with the way I’m running at the moment.

The pain has gone without needing medication, so I guess it was all in my mind. A great run without one stoppage although I really needed a “p” for the last 3k but hung on until I got home!

Andrew has asked whether we can frighten his PB for the “Run Melbourne” half – 1:43:35, not so sure this far out but I guess we can only train for it – I’d be stoked with anything under 2 hours at this stage.

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Return of the Mind Games

  1. morseyruns says:

    Chest pains?? Sounds like something you should get checked out! Thanks for your support Alex- I rely on so many other people to get me moving as well!

  2. Don’t worry, it’s just my mind playing tricks with me. You’re a legend – 100k? I don’t know how you get your head straight for that.

  3. sassydrcil says:

    Hmmmm, if it comes on at effort, or comes on consistently, get the pain checked out. Have you had your blood pressure checked after the low one?
    Good on you for the half mara – my first half was run melb, it was great!

  4. ajh says:

    I would be happy with a strong HM of any sort, gunna take some serious training for me to ge anywhere near my PB.

Leave a Reply

