London Town

Today’s long run took me to places I’ve rarely been since I started running. I decided to get up early this morning (5:15am) and decide whether to do my long run or intervals.

Around the 5k mark I was aware of some of the street names: Oxford St, Regent St, Hyde St, Battersea, Epping and St James. As an old London born boy it made me smile how the town planner must have decided that these streets were going to have the same names as the aforementioned, although they were never going to live up to their namesakes.

There’s even a square (called the loop) that could resemble Soho Square, although even I have to admit it’s drawing a long bow.

As I set out today, I’d set my goal at an hour for 11k, although I didn’t factor in the two train delays at the boom gates at Glenroy station. All up, I was really pleased with the run and I found $2 for my troubles!

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to London Town

  1. bearrunner says:

    Great job! Wish I could run in the mornings… I have enough trouble waking up for work

    cheers

Leave a Reply

