A Bridge Too Far?

On our run yesterday, Andrew and I were talking of the trepidation I feel about running a half marathon and the fact that a full marathon was way beyond my ability, maybe not from a fitness point of view – but how the hell do you get your head around running for 2 or 4 hours?

I’ve only known Andrew for about 9 months, but I’ve come to realise that just when you think you’ve won the argument, he’ll simplify it to conclusion – “well if I’ve run a marathon, so can you”. We’re roughly the same age, build and fitness, so I have no counter to his statement, although I think his mindset is stronger and more confident than mine – at this stage!

Yesterdays run was in stark contrast to last weeks sapping humidity, it was nice and fresh, perfect Melbourne conditions.

I mention this because my running plan now has me at 9k for my shortest run for the week and my long runs are around the 11-12k mark. It was so much easier when all I had to do was 5-6k – all over in half an hour. Now it feels like I have to block out huge parts of my day to ensure I cover the mileage. I take forever to get prepared and need time after to relax, so a 12k run takes up about 2 hours, then I have a thing called work!

Now I know many of you have 11k as a short run – two come to mind: JH & Neil – these two are 20-30k merchants, although I think I have a few years on them (15) and some sanity!!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Bridge Too Far?

  1. ajh says:

    For me, since I’ve been an exerciser, the biggest change in me is that I love challenging myself more. I love the quote that I have on my blog from Shauna Reid, “There is no better feeling in the world than to take your mind and body to a place you thought it couldn’t go; a place you thought it didn’t belong. You should all try it sometime.” For me, that is the essence of the marathon.

    You’re right though, the training for it is a commitment, you’ll need the families support, but I’m sure that won’t be a problem. When I did my marathon, I actually took about 10 days leave, every Friday for 10 weeks leading up to the marathon. Adrienne and I did our Saturday stuff on Fridays and I joined the Melb Mara training group runs on Saturday mornings. This became my long run. This group training was great.

    Remind me next Tuesday on our run, I’ve got another present for you, to help convince you!

  2. JH says:

    Hey! Who are you calling insane? Just for that I’m going to come over to your place and make you fun a full marathon!

    BTW – of course you can run the full 42.195km. You just have to want to, and be prepared to put in the training.

Leave a Reply

