Can’t believe I did that

These past few weeks I’ve had a number of  “can’t believe I did or said that” moments:

  • Why don’t these non chargeable batteries charge?
  • Let’s go to the Aquarium on Sunday at 2:00pm – there’s a football game on at the MCG and Etihad Stadium

But the “that takes the cake for me was yesterday’s run. My planner says ” 9k” so I headed south  and then intended prior to go east, but at about the 3k mark I decided to head west (these directions are as I headed). Now west is to the steepest hill in the area: Gaffney Street, about a 40m high hill over about 300m – It’s hard enough walking let alone running.

At this stage I’ve hit 15 minutes for 3 k and feeling really good, lots of energy and a spring in my step. By the time I reached Gaffney Street’s pinnacle I was stuffed and I still had 5.5k to go.

The remaining k’s were painfully slow and painful – I laboured the whole way and regretted my earlier decision. In any case I still got some mileage into my legs.

As I said earlier we headed to the aquarium and whilst we are members I have to say that we are not getting any value for our money. The main exhibit used to contain 20 odd sharks, now it was down to 2 and we’ve decided not to renew our membership.

Rest day today and tomorrow I have an “easy” run with Andrew, 8k round our usual track – easy is good as he’s just completed a 145k bike ride and I guess he’d be sore and I like the chance to run easy for a change.

 

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Can’t believe I did that

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    I’ve ridden up Gaffney a few times, but never run up it. Maybe we could do it one Tuesday, but not tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

