Surely that can’t be right?

As stated on Thursday, the “Biggest Loser” was on for 2 hours last night and I have to admit that I’m addicted to it! Six months ago, if you had said I’d watch at least 2 episodes of it I would have had you committed, but now every evening is planned around it.

However last night’s challenges had me thinking: “this can’t be right” as Lara bounced up and down when doing the shoulder presses -that’s not how they’re supposed to be done. And to top it off, she then ran on the treadmill whilst holding on to the fascia, not the handles. Again, it’s simply not right. Rant over.

This past week I’ve decided to add some intervals into my running regime to add some variety and hopefully some pace. My short runs are now 8k and as there’s little difference between my fast ( I use the term loosely) runs and my slow runs, so I’m hoping that the intervals will put some time between the two.

I’ve finally decided to use the interval timing on the Garmin rather than the lap timer. It allows you to set the time or distance of each sprint rep and rest rep. Also it gives me a choice of a warm up and cool down and I need to use my own judgment on their length and time – the reps can only be timed and measures, to my knowledge – the watch has all the bells and whistles and so far I’ve only used 1 bell and 1 whistle!

First decision of the morning was whether to run up hill with the wind in my back or downhill with the wind in my face – I chose the latter. I decided that I’d jog a mile to warm up before getting into the sprints.

The watch counts down the reps for me but after what I thought was the fifth (of eight) sprint rep the watch was still showing the number five, whereas I thought it should have been the number four. Trust me, I would have struggled doing an extra one so I was quite pleased to learn that it shows the number rep of the previous not the number remaining.

Apart from the first sprint rep, the reps were within 1o meters of each other, so at least I was consistent even though the “sprinting” is on the slow side.

Good luck to Andrew today as he tackles the 145k Great Ocean Otway Classic bike race.

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Surely that can’t be right?

  1. ajh says:

    I’m worried. Soon you’ll be too fast for me with all this interval training!

    Thanks for the good luck wishes – I survived!

Leave a Reply

