Intervals – ouch

I missed my easy run yesterday and decided that tomorrow’s run with Andrew will substitute.

I was woken by my youngest, Sam at 3:30am this morning, something about a bug in his room – no bugs so I guess it was just a dream. I then lay awake until 4:30am to go for my run (Michelle goes to the gym on Mondays at 5:45am so I need to be back from my run before then). Whilst laying there I decided that I need to add intervals to my training program, god knows why it was a very warm morning – 22C.

I couldn’t be bothered faffing about with the Garmin so I set it for 200m splits – sprint 200m (well that’s what I call it) and recovery for 200m.

I warmed up for 1.2k and then got into it:

Intervals started at split 7 and concluded at split 19 (6 intervals) Splits 1-6 were the warm up and splits 20-24 were a gentle jog home.

All up about 4.7k and felt very uncomfortable by the end of the 6th split.

Nice easy run with Andrew tomorrow morning.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

