Runkeeper v Garmin 310xt

A few days ago Michelle used the free Runkeeper app on her iphone and the Garmin for one of her runs. The results of the two were way out.

I sent an email to Neil in London as I know he’s tested every known techno gadget since the abacus about the discrepancy and he replied with:

” If it’s the 3G (which it is) she has no hope in built up areas or if you have a number of other apps running in the background”  The 4G apparently is more accurate.

This morning was my turn to use runkeeper as I was compelled to take the iphone as I had forgot to charge the Blackberry (I always take a phone just in case). Initially it had 2 drawbacks -1, The iphone is a lot bigger than the Blackberry and I had trouble getting into my pouch thingy. 2, I now had to run to her playlist – As it turned out it wasn’t too bad.

I put the Garmin on also to compare and started both up at 6:36am for a 6k run. It was near perfect weather for running; no wind and a comfortable 16C. I reckon I say that about every run – you have to love Melbourne don’t you? well I do!

The Runkeeper apps advises you of your pace in minutes per k, but as I neared the 900m mark it tells me that my pace is 5:35. Straight away I knew something was wrong; I was running much quicker and I hadn’t reached the 1k mark yet. It was dark so I didn’t check with the Garmin and was unsure whether the Runkeeper was set to tell me my pace every 5 minutes or every k. So I ran the next 5k worrying about how slow my pace was – 5:46, 5:55 etc and at one point 7:25, how debilitating.

I waited for the 6k buzz on the Garmin to end my run as I trust it and I can always use it as a barometer for all my runs. Garmin says – 31.37mins for 6k – Runkeeper 33:25 for 5.87k and I stopped it 50m or so after – had to close a couple of apps before stopping the activity!

 

I can understand the k’s being out, but the time? The calories burnt discrepancy is due to the app being set at 1kg in weight.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Runkeeper v Garmin 310xt

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    I was just about to say exactly the same thing. How can the time be different?

    By the way, I rode past the “snake” I jumped over on our run the other day this morning, and I think it was just a shed skin, not a live snake. Still gave me a fright though!

Leave a Reply

