Day 28!

Wow, I can’t believe I actually did it – 28 days without a drink – that’s 4 consecutive weekends –  all of which contained at least one afternoon/evening family/friends get together. I can honestly say that it’s been over 30 years since I stayed off the booze for that long.

Lessons learnt:

  • I’m not an alcoholic, I just love a drink!
  • I don’t feel any better not drinking
  • Drinking doesn’t make me gain weight – I’ve not lost any weight whilst abstaining
  • I have a sweet tooth
  • I’m just as boring/exciting sober
  • I run faster after a few drinks the night before
  • I have great willpower
  • Four weeks is enough!

My wife has bought me a nice Seppelt Mount Ida Heathcote Shiraz 2004 in celebration.

To all the Febfasters out there – well done and enjoy your drink of choice tomorrow; you’ve sure earnt it.

Early morning run tomorrow 6.5k.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 28!

  1. ajh says:

    Well done mate, I agree on most points, except I did lose weight. Think I might have a beer and a wine tonight!

Leave a Reply

