How low can they go?

Regardless of your political persuasion, we have reached a new low in dishonesty from our own prime minister. I know I’ve always been skeptical about our leaders and their integrity, but yesterday took the cake.

Not once but three times she said in the lead up to the last election that there would be no carbon tax and now we’re getting one and the PM refuses to admit the lie – utter contempt for the Australian people. If allowed to get away with this, we are condoning our future political leaders to lie with our consent.

A carbon tax is a tax on usage, one which the householder has little control over – do they honestly think we turn on every appliance in our homes for the fun of it? Businesses that use the greater share will simply burden the consumer with higher bills to cover the tax.

A tax to appease the crack pot “greens”  – this woman will sell her soul to stay in power. Move over Julia, Bill’s waiting for his turn.

On the running front I’ve had 2 back to back – one last night and one this morning which bought up the 100k for the month.

Day 26 of Febfast and only 3 evenings to go!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to How low can they go?

  1. JH says:

    So, tell me what you really think!

    Personally, I think it was stupid to make the pre-election promise in the first place, but I basically support the idea carbon-tax idea. If we want to have a positive impact on the climate, we have to change our behaviour, as simple as that. The only way we can change our behaviour is by making it difficult (or more expensive) to do carbon-intensive stuff.

    My 2 cents.

  2. What I really think is unprintable!

  3. ajh says:

    Looking forward to March 1? I can taste that first beer already 🙂

  4. morseyruns says:

    I am with you on Gillard- but I just don’t like her so it doesnt matter to me what she says, it will always make my skin scrawl! One more sleep till March!

Leave a Reply

