Sam and the Tan

As mentioned earlier we all proposed running “The Tan” trials today and decided to head into town after midday as Chelle had a boxing class until 11:30am.

After we picked up our bibs and timing tags, I was first to set off. I told Chelle and the boys to expect me back in 21 minutes although I was hoping for closer to 20 minutes and would be stoked with sub 20. I went out far too fast but maintained the pace until I hit Anderson Street. Needless to say I slowed up considerably but still clocked 5:15minute/k for the 2nd k. The rest is relatively downhill and I managed a very pleasing 18:51 for the 3.87k lap – a full minute faster than I’d thought possible at this stage of my rehab.

After I finished Harry and Chelle headed off whilst I looked after Sam -the intention was for all of us to run/walk with Sam after we’d all finished. While waiting for them Sam wanted a sausage sizzle as he was hungry, he later said it was what gave him his energy, I’ll have to remember that one!

Harry finished stronger than Chelle by about 30 seconds due to Chelle doing a pretty tough boxing class 2 hours earlier. We decided that I’d jog with Sam and fully expected him to want to cut the run short. The good thing about the Tan is the gates every 500m that you can cut through if needed – Sam isn’t interested in the times or the distances, he just wants to do what the rest of the family is doing and he certainly did that.

Unbelievably Sam ran/jogged the whole way whilst talking non stop with only a short walk up Anderson street. Here are our results, consider that there were heaps of walkers and Harry (8) and Sam (4) were in the Under 15 category:

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sam and the Tan

  1. ajh says:

    Well done all! You’d better fix the typo in your post though, it says “a very pleasing 18:51 for the 1.87k lap”, rather than 3.87k. Wouldn’t want any readers unfamiliar with the Tan to think you were that slow 🙂

Leave a Reply

