Febfast Runslow?

Today is day 8 of Febfast and I’m proud to say I haven’t had a drop of alcohol since 31st January and the only time I really felt like a beer was Friday after work.

Aside from the fact that I don’t smell like brewery, I can honestly say that I don’t feel any better for not drinking and in fact my running seems to have got worse, well the times have and all my runs are a struggle at the moment and I’m only clocking 5k in each.Plus my weight seems to have stabilised at around 81kgs, a full 6 kgs off my preferred weight despite my biggest running month since last August and we’re only a week in.

I mentioned this to a friend who came up with this unprofessional opinion:

“Your body is lacking the carbs from the beer and the alcohol that was still in your system was masking some of the pain/niggles”

Not sure how true that is but I know that at the moment I’d struggle to break an hour for 10k’s. Anyone else feeling the same? Today’s early morning run was much of the same: hard work and slow.

This Saturday, Michelle, Harry and I are all doing “Go The Tan” which is the official time trail of the 3.87k track around the Botanical Gardens here in Melbourne.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Febfast Runslow?

  1. JH says:

    Actually, my running has gotten a lot better, I think mainly because I do my running in the early morning, and my head isn’t as foggy as it was in January. That being said, I’ve gotten sick (man-flu), which always seems to happen.

Leave a Reply

