Back to Reality

Been home a couple of days now and the only difference to our Perth visit versus our home is we don’t have a pool (yet).

Seems we’ve brought the weather with us, it’s a steamy 40C here today and the following 6 days have an average of 34C with a median low of 22C.

As most people do, we spend up big whilst on holiday and consolidate when we get home; trouble is when we get home there’s always an unexpected bill to pay or an appliance breakdown. In the past the microwave blew up or we’ve received a nice letter from the compliance folks ( speeding fine) although I’m proud to say I haven’t had a fine in 17 years.

This year we return and the double door fridge/freezer has decide to call it a day sometime during our vacation. The red blood like juice on our floor from the not so frozen berries resembles a murder scene. We’ve filled the garbage bin with the food that has probably gone “off”, so it’s a double whammy.

To cut a long story short, we’ve had to shell out for a new fridge/freezer – just what we need!

Today we headed to the beach and the comparison with the Perth beaches we visited ends with beach! We paid $8 for parking ( Perth nil) the beach was full of shells (Perth was sandy), the beach wasn’t patrolled (Perth was) and the water whilst appearing clear was dull looking ( Perth’s was clear blue). I’ll write a review on Perth as a holiday destination in the next few days.

I’ve decided to (or rather my conscience has) take up Febfast – those of you who know me will attest to the monumental task that faces me. I drink virtually every day sometimes a lot and sometimes more and this is no mean feat for me, although my recent weight gain needs to be reined in and I’m more than aware of it than ever.

My weight has stabilised and I’m a relatively overweight 80.8 kgs this morning and that’s about 4 kgs less than my maximum over the holiday. Goal weight is still 75kgs but that will only come when I ramp up the running k’s.

On the exercise front, I’ve only had a couple of runs and a cycle class at the gym in the last 10 days, so the fasting and exercise needs ramping up big time.

Australian Open Tennis – Djokovic to fry in the heat and Murray to win in 4 sets.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to Reality

  1. ajh says:

    I’ve registered for Febfast too!

  2. sassydrcil says:

    Alex – some free/ friendly medical advice – be careful with coming off the alcohol – if you start feeling jittery/sweaty for no apparent reason, get yourself to the doc.
    But I must say, good on you for doing Febfast. I will sponsor you. šŸ™‚

  3. morseyruns says:

    That is annoying! I hate throwing away food.

    You know you can get a caution for speeding fines if you have a good driving record- keep that in mind for next time!

Leave a Reply

