Running, Red Lights and Rego’s

I’ve come to the conclusion that in Perth’s summer, there is “no” good time to run, it’s always hot.

Yesterday’s run wasn’t any different except that as it was the weekend there were very few people out along Riverside Drive. It was a warm 25c at 6:30am and the heat and the direct sunlight makes running a little uncomfortable at times.

For the first time ever I had a feeling of dread whilst running. About a k in I had to run in the tunnel under the Causeway which because of its echoing effect, I became aware of other footsteps – I only ever run with one earphone in on the road.

I had a quick look and was jolted with an unknown fear. I saw two other runners about 5 metres behind me and assumed they’d caught me up, but they stayed on my tail for about another 500 metres. It got me thinking that if they were to attack me, I would not have the pace to sprint away or the energy to defend myself. And this was in broad daylight, what would it be like for a woman, out alone at night?

I have visited many cities around the world in my many years but I don’t think I have ever timed myself at the Red Light’s. I’m talking about traffic lights of course! In Perth you have to wait at a red light for between 5 and 7 minutes and that’s when there’s no other traffic around – very frustrating and I’m on holiday.

Lastly, we’ve hired a car for our stay in Perth and about the third day I’d noticed that the car didn’t have a registration sticker on the windscreen. I was concerned as in Melbourne you can get a fine for not having it visible even if it’s not your car – as the driver you are deemed responsible. The WA government has decided to scrap the sticker as it was costing $2.00 to print each one! They charge $650 per year for each one and there are only 1.5 million people in the whole of WA. Why wouldn’t they just tack it onto the cost? I’d say this just encourages people to drive around in an unregistered car and therefore without third party insurance.

Another hot day today – 34c – and we’re off to Coogee Beach and then to the best fish and chips in Australia – Cicerello’s in Fremantle.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

