Barefoot Running

After yesterdays run in the heat, I decided to get up earlier for my next run, which at the moment isn’t too difficult as I still haven’t acclimatised to the time difference.

For reasons still unknown, I decided to have a run on the beach – Cottesloe Beach to be exact. Another first for me, well two actually; barefoot and beach running. Seemed really strange heading out for a run in all my usual gear except a pair of thongs instead of my runners. I’ll have to update my pivot tables with an extra column to accommodate “barefoot” along side my Adrenaline greens and Trance blues to record the mileages.

So at 5:30am I jumped in the car and headed to Cottesloe which is about a 20 minute drive. The sun was just coming up over the horizon and it was a still, warm morning. I had the radio on in the car and the jock says that it’s going to be a warm 35c in Perth today and the current temperature was 25c! I thought “sheesh”..that’s a lie, I let out a word that you wouldn’t normally use in front of your future in laws, the first time you meet them.

The sun was up on my arrival at the beach and whilst I’ve swum here numerous times in the past at 5:30-6:00 am ( I used to live 5 minutes up the road in Swanbourne) I’d never noticed runners before only the swimmers. Now there seemed hundreds of runners and less walkers from my previous run along Riverside Drive.

The demographic of the Riverside Drive cast was around the mid 20’s to late 30’s, but in Cottesloe it was in the mid 40’s and up, certainly less aesthetically pleasing but one where I felt very comfortable.

I ran close to the shoreline where the sand is relatively firm but on a slight camber. I ran 4 very hard kilometers where I was constantly assessing the waves and dodging the large ones. This brought about another challenge where if I had to drift a few metres up the beach, the sand would be so soft my feet would sink in up to my ankles. All in all a great workout for my calves.

Luckily for us we do not have scales at the apartment, so the guilt will have to wait until we get back to Melbourne! All I know is that I will probably have to buy new bathers soon as my waistline has expanded and they are starting to feel uncomfortable.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Barefoot Running

  1. JH says:

    You have pivot tables for your shoes?

  2. Neil Lock says:

    Still follow your posts and this one left me a little envious. As you rub along the beach in the sun I run around hyde park in torrential rain. I think I know where I’d rather be!!

    Good stuff. N

  3. sassydrcil says:

    Men are worried about their figures and feel guilty about eating and drinking? THERE IS A GOD!!!!!

Leave a Reply

