New Year, New Injury

Or is it?

Yesterday, I headed out for an early run and felt good, both mentally and physically – I hadn’t over done the NYE celebrations, which we spent at the Docklands family fireworks that go off at the reasonably early time of 9:15pm.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Around the 1k mark, my right knee felt uncomfortable so I decided to slow up and jogged/walked the quickest route to home.  I’m wearing a knee brace as a caution rather than to fix the problem as it’s not painful and does not alter my gait or stop me from jogging. It does however send a pain through my thigh when I move in another direction quickly -especially when I play cricket with the boys.

The “City to Bay” race is next Sunday and if my knee is not better, Michelle will run the 10k  and I’ll do the 1.5k with Harry and Sam.

A month ago, I would have said that us swapping races was impossible as Michelle had only ever ran as far as 4k before and that was only once. In the past two weeks she has run two 5k’s and one 6.25k. Today she ran 8k, so I have no doubt that she’ll run a 10k.

I may have to take up a less active hobby as this running lark is beyond frustration, now it’s anger. Anyone for lawn bowls?

Happy New Year to all.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Year, New Injury

  1. sassydrcil says:

    Tight/weak muscles? Have you had a thorough physiotherapy/podiatry assessment? Costs cashola, but as somebody very rightly said to me at the beginning of my running “career” – “don’t root around with your feet”. Pretty much all of the runners have their entourage. Very few of us have perfect biomechanics. Take me – 10kg overweight, flat footed, blister prone, short legged and a bit knock kneed. Plenty of imperfects like me out there.
    Do you really want to run, do you love it enough?
    You can make it work. If I can, you can.

  2. JH says:

    Lawn bowls is quite fun, and you don’t have to be sober.

  3. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Bike. Works for me!

Leave a Reply

