Devil in Me

Another perfect Melbourne morning for a run; no wind, sun up and six hot air balloons over the city. Do not know what it is about the balloons, but it sort of gives me a fresh, happy feeling inside, almost like a freedom that it probably brings to the occupants.

Headed out this morning with a rough goal of 5k+ and took a slight detour that had me exceeding 6k and as the last stretch was downhill I continued on until I stopped my watch at 6.66k just before the incline. I contemplated carrying on as I generally like whole numbers, but I’d started walking by this stage and felt enough was enough.

My weight has started to come down and I tipped the scales at 80.6kgs this morning, down from 82.3 a couple of days ago, but still about 5 kgs away from where I want/need to be.

Last night Michelle convinced us all to head into the city to go see the baby hammerheads at the aquarium. This time of year they are open until 9:00pm, but,  not until January 1st!

Second bad suggestion of the night by my good lady was to walk along Southbank and have a beer at the Irish pub. I rarely need convincing to have a beer, especially on a warm summers’ evening,  well never actually! As we neared the pub, we realised our folly – the “Barmy Army” were in full song and had packed the pub out, so we decided on ice creams and headed home – not a wasted evening but certainly not as planned.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Devil in Me

  1. JH says:

    I’ve never been on a hot air balloon. I imagine they are nicer to look at than be on.

Leave a Reply

