Breathe

My first run for an eternity occured early yesterday evening. It was a mildish night – about 19c with a mild breeze. Our new location has hills but by comparison with our old house they are relatively sedate.

Headed out and decided that a gentle downhill was the way to start, although I probably started too fast as is the norm. Usually, I settle down after the first 600 odd metres and enjoy my run, but this was different.

I struggled breathing, my throat and chest felt sore with a tinge of burn. I’d decided beforehand that if I struggled, I’d have a walk after each k. It never occured to me that my breathing would be so difficult, I thought my calves or my thighs would struggle.

Completed 3k with two walks of about 100m each and sweated buckets – glad to have the first one out of the way, has to get easier from here, doesn’t it??

It almost feels like I’ve never run before and I’d be lying if I said I’d enjoyed it – fact is I hated it.

The big bonus is that my thigh is fully healed and I don not have any aches or pains in my legs.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breathe

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Know how you feel, mine felt a bit like that yesterday.

  2. morseyruns says:

    So relieved that your thigh is healed- I hate that first run after injury- listening to hard to your body that you strain your ears!

Leave a Reply

