Is the Couch still free?

Second run back from 10 weeks of inactivity and this morning’s was on the road. It was a perfect morning for running; hardly any breeze and a nice and fresh 13C.

Up at 5:30am and my quads were still sore from the 5k on Sunday’s treadmill – I warmed up and stretched for a few minutes before heading out. Steady 5:30 minute k’s to start but I was struggling to breathe properly – I ended up running the 5k with 4 walks in between in 29 minutes.

It seems that the 10 weeks has not only gained me an ugly 5 kgs but it has also killed my fitness. My new plan is most definitely unachievable at this stage and I’m going to have to redress my planner.

Tomorrow was supposed to be a 6k run but I’m going to play it by ear. I’m glad to be running again and need to be patient in building my fitness back up.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Is the Couch still free?

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    So are we on for Thursday? I don’t mind the occasional walk break!

  2. I had to retrieve your comment from “Spam” – sent you an email earlier.

Leave a Reply

