Couch to 5k in 30 minutes

It’s been 72 days since my last meaningful run, I’m excluding the two races (MM and Sri Chinmoy) as I was heavily drugged to numb the pain.

I got up this morning at 6:30am to go for a 5k run and I have to admit I was somewhat relieved that it was raining, although I knew I was only delaying the inevitable. Rain? I cannot remember seeing this much in the last 20 years; I swear it was horizontal.

Took the kids swimming and then decided that as it was still raining I’d go to the gym to run on the dreaded tready. Started off on a steady 9kmph and gradually ramped it up to 13kmph around the 4k mark on a 1% incline. The machine tells me I’ve used up 401 calories, although I’m stuffed how it knows this. Overall I covered 5.5km in 29:23 including the warm up and down.  Well chuffed! maybe I’m a runner after all.

An hour later and I have some muscles asking me questions; my lower back, aductors, quads, calves and hamstrings. Rest or cross training day tomorrow.

Poms showing some spine, looking like a draw in the first test.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

