New Training Planner

I’ve been really slack lately, although not much has been happening on the exercise front. My thigh feels fully healed and I’ve planned on my first run this coming Saturday.

It’s been 55 days since my last training run (save for the MM 10k & Maribyrnong 4k) and that was a leisurely 8km run with Andrew. I’m now to the point that almost nightly I have dreams of running – sad eh? I just can’t wait to get out there again, especially as the weather has turned nice of late and the mornings are light at 5:30am.

My new 10 week planner concludes with the 10k City to Surf on January 9th -which is handy as we leave for Perth on 11th for nearly 3 weeks – hope to do a heap of runs along the Swan River and the beaches.

All the planners I can find on the net are in miles so I’ve converted and rounded up to kilometers. This plan is for “Intermediate Runners” and seems to suit my needs, although I was hoping to at this stage to be training for a half marathon. That’s now on hold until mid 2011.

People ask me why I need a plan and why not just go out and run. Well the truth is that without a planner, I’m likely to overdo it and cause myself an injury like the last time I didn’t have a plan – I missed heaps of running days and then covered 40k in 3 days! Not going down that path again.

The bank has verbally agreed to our loan, so we’re just waiting for the official documents and then the builder can start ripping down this house and start our new house – hopefully before the end of November. We need to start house hunting next week so as not to delay the builder. Michelle had a great idea -why not start a blog for the new house? Might try and incorporate it into this one.

 

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

