Spin

Word of the day: Spin

Cricket has arrived in Melbourne today, though I’d be surprised if many went- it’s so cold today and we’re in the middle of the spring carnival and:

The Reserve Bank of Australia lifted interest rates by .25% and the Commonwealth Bank up’s theirs by a further .20% and then has the audacity to justify it (spin) on the back of $6.1 billion profit- hopefully my bank and yours only lift theirs by the .25%.

The third spin of the day (for those unfamiliar with cricket – a type of bowler is a spin bowler – Shane Warne was quite handy at the art!) is a a spin class I did this evening. Absolutely no discomfort at all, although I’m giving it another 2 weeks before I start road running again just to make sure.

Yesterday’s Melbourne Cup bash was quite a successful essay although my kids both came out way ahead as they didn’t contribute to any of the sweeps. Yet one won $28 and the other $16. Michelle and I both won one a small sweep and I had a small fortune (by my standards) on “So you Think” for a place – it came third and paid $2.00.

My prediction of the trifecta (8,7 & 3) was 66% right; number 24 came second instead of number 7. Although I have to hand it to JRuns he correctly tipped 8 and 3 (first and third) for an each way collect of $16.20 for an outlay of $4. Be mindful, by his own admission he only gets the winner right every second year, so give him a miss next year!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spin

  1. JH says:

    And I didn’t actually bet on those horses.

  2. Cilla says:

    Maybe you should get the physio to work on what she thought was giving you the trouble in the adductors….

  3. morseyruns says:

    I had Maluckyday because I was in NZ and it seemed the right thing to do- would have been better if I had been in Paris obviously!

Leave a Reply

