MRI Day

Luckily for me I had the first appointment for the day and the second appointment canceled, so I had an extended visit/scan.

After I had stripped down to my socks, jocks and t shirt, I had to put one of those tie up the back hospital gowns, although I’m unsure of the benefit.

This was my first MRI so really had no idea what to expect. Mark the guy doing whatever he does asks me what type of music I liked to be playing whilst I was in the tunnel – I just said “put 3AW on”  – no can do he says. So I ask for something alternative and leave it up to him.

The MRI machine is like one big donut, the outer diameter about 2 metres and in the inner about 600m – this is the tunnel bit.

I ask how the large people get in there, he jokingly said they grease them up and push them in! -well I think he was joking.

Mark then gives me the head phones and mentions they are industrial strength to drown out the machine, not for the music! The MRI goes hammer and tongs for 4-5 minutes at a time for maybe 45 minutes and sounds like a very loud, dull alarm. In between the alarms, I heard the worst version of “London Calling” (The Clash) ever – when Mark came in I said that’s no Joe Strummer, couldn’t you afford the original? He said it’s Triple J’s “like a version” CD where well known songs are supposedly played but other well known artists. This one was by Urthboy -CRAP

I have a new idea for “Spicks and Specks” or “Rockwiz”  – put these headphones on and pipe the music through and turn on the MRI machine. Contestants have to guess the song – bloody impossible. Play this CD and they should get a point for the song, a point for the original artist and 5 points for the actual singer.

One hour later I’m out of there and it’s only 9:15 am and lighter by $295 – I have another appointment with Tony tomorrow at 9:00am for the results.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

