City to Bay 10k

This used to be called the Great Australian Run and being the optimist I am, I’ve signed up for the 10k,  even though my thigh is still crook. It’s on 9th January 2011 and that’s 11 weeks away so I’m assuming my thigh is fully recovered by then. I’ve decided that the Geelong 12k is a risk as it’s only 4 weeks away- I’ll see closer to the date and register late if I have to.

City to Bay  looks a great course with over 5k run along the beach and the finish line on the beach. If it turns out to be a hot day you can dive straight into the surf! Temperatures in January are usually mid 20’s C and I should be finished before 9:30am (starts at 8:30) so should avoid the heat.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to City to Bay 10k

  1. Andrew says:

    The only problem with a course like that is then you’ve got to get back to the start area after you finish.

  2. Ha, the benefit of involving the family who’ll already be there after their fun run!

  3. JH says:

    You’ll have to be a bit careful too. I could see myself getting into the long straight on Beaconsfield parade, within site of the finish, and starting a glorious kick too early.

  4. Not a fear for me – the only kick I’ll get is from another runner!

Leave a Reply

