Eureka!

Eureka – Archimedes screamed this when he realised that volume of water displaced was equal to the volume of his submerged body – history lesson over.

Tonight I had my second visit to my physio and after much prodding, poking and an ultra sound we finally found the problem with my thigh.

It’s my adductor – I thought the pain I felt was in my quads when I planted my foot – that was until she found the adductor. I nearly hit the ceiling, the pain as she prodded it was excruciating. After about another 15 minutes work on it, I was walking with only a little discomfort. An hour later and it feels heaps better.

One problem with this muscle is when I apply the Deep Heat or Rapigel, it’s very close to a part of my anatomy that doesn’t benefit from either -in fact it makes them downright uncomfortable! It’s a bloke thing girls -just trust me on this one.

I’m still going to see the sports doc at Olympic Park on Thursday and my physio has kindly written him a note on the work she’s being doing on me.

I am now hoping that I am on the road to full recovery; it’s been a long five weeks and I can’t wait to get back into full training and start realising some goals. Only this time, I’m sticking to plan and not going to overdo it.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Eureka!

  1. JH says:

    Ooo yes, I’m wincing just thinking about it. Keep the deep heat well away.

  2. morseyruns says:

    Nice to have the problem sorted out, the solution should follow!

  3. cilla says:

    yes, I could imagine the effects of deep heat on that area.
    Has the physio prescribed some exercises for you?
    good to hear they found the probable root of the problem.

  4. cilla says:

    and which doc will you be going to see? I saw Paul Blackman – nice bloke, twinkle in his eye that looks like he runs a half marathon every morning before breakfast.

Leave a Reply

