Yesterday’s Results

I mentioned the other day that I believed that Michelle could break 26 minutes for the Maribyrnong 4k and Harry could break 24 minutes.

Bear in mind the course is officially 4.12k -The results are through:

Michelle – 25.56

Harry – 22.41

Excellent!

There were 89 runners in the 4k – 50 male and 39 Female. Michelle came 53rd overall,  15th in her gender and 8th in her category – magnificent effort.

Harry came 35th overall, 29th in gender and 7th in his category -there were only 8 in his category (U15) but all the others were teenagers or close to it – just brilliant

Me – well the official results show Harry beat me although we had the same time -36th overall, 30th in gender and 5th in category. Interestingly if I’d have run alone and fit I c/would have placed 3rd in category and top 20 overall.  I’ll make that my goal for next years race! I forgot to mention yesterday that it was perfect weather for a run – overcast, cool, no wind, small field and a flat track – what more could you possibly want?

Took Dr Cills advice and booked in to see a sports doctor at Olympic Park Sports & Medical. Thursday morning they will lighten my wallet by $190!!  Mind you if they can fix up my thigh it will be cheap. I just want to run, pain and medication free.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yesterday’s Results

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Great efforts both!

    I know that it probably wasn’t important for Harry or Michelle, but does it bug you when the race distances are 4.12 or 5.7, not 4km or 5km etc. It does me.

    • It does as it’s difficult to compare your times (PB’s) from different races – it seems you’re never comparing apples with apples and the fallback is your GPS watch, which feels a little like cheating. The official time is xxx but the Garmin says Y at the 5k mark.

  2. morseyruns says:

    I went to OPSMC and have always felt very happy with their opinion. Good luck!

  3. sassydrcil says:

    oops – forgot it was so expensive. I got mates rates. One of the (very few) perks of the job.
    You can probably afford it, though.
    Great that you take my advice – very few of our patients do!!!

Leave a Reply

