Next! – Maribyrnong 4k

This Sunday 17th October.

Those of you who having been following my blog for a while now, will know that this race was originally for the IPad if Michelle and Harry broke 26 minutes (6:30 minute k’s). They have been in training for this for the past 11 weeks (see “C25k” above) and this was going to be a nice leisurely jog for me. I was supposed to pace them to the finish line in under 26 minutes.

Now, I have a dilemma: because of Harry’s age (8) Sri Chinmoy only allowed him to race if he was accompanied by an adult for the whole race. Problem being Harry’s just run 2.5k in 13 minutes at the MM. Do I:

  1. Hold him back with Michelle and I at 6:30 minute pace? or
  2. Run with him (try to keep up with him!) and leave Michelle on her own?

If I opt for #2, we only have one Garmin and Michelle should have it as it’s her first race and she could pace herself against the watch. It would also be interesting to see how fast Harry could go without the watch/pacemaker.

Is option #1 an option?

BTW – Michelle now has an Ipad through work

Quads are still a little sore and I’m looking to have an 8k run with Andrew on Thursday morning.

Also bit the bullet and ordered all of Harry’s prints and video from the Marathon photo’s website – complete rip off, but it’s his first ever race so I feel obligated.

Last rant about MM – Harry has his certificate for the run but it says 2k instead of 2.5k – how on earth did they miss that?

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Next! – Maribyrnong 4k

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Definitely have to let Michelle have the Garmin. You could always borrow mine for the morning if you feel you and Harry need one too?

  2. Thanks for the kind offer but I think we’ll just run “blind” like they used to when I was a kid!

Leave a Reply

