Melbourne Marathon – the day after

I wrote yesterday that “the King” is dead (dying) – well my quads are killing me, slowly – both legs are tight as and the numbness in my right thigh seems to have disappeared.

I’ve had a day to reflect on yesterday’s MM and offer this candid assessment of the whole set up. MM is a private entity and is a “for” profit organisation. It appears a little unfair to me that a profit making machine like IMG relies on hundreds of volunteers – how does that work?

The Good:

  • The volunteers – just brilliant
  • The course – perfect and within 110m of my Garmin – I don’t run in straight lines!
  • Water sachets –  much easier than drinking out of cups
  • The spectators – I reckon Melbournians would cheer paint drying!
  • Started bang on time – great effort that

The Bad:

  • The goodie bag – the only useful thing is the bag it comes in
  • The website timing was way out – had me at over a minute more than my Garmin
  • The water in the cups at drink stations – there’s less chemical in my swimming pool – yuck
  • The 180 degree turn on Brunton Ave – far too tight – the last thing I want at 9k is to walk around a tight corner only to run again
  • $12.95 for a 15 second video

The Ugly:

The ugly part only really affected the minority – the parents/friends of the kids 2.5k run. There were 600 odd runners ranging from 7-14 year olds. Understandably the parents couldn’t run with the kids so from a security viewpoint the child had a wrist band with their race number on and a parent had  one also. Child couldn’t leave the area without a matching wrist band. This is good – having only one person checking 600 kids and adults wristbands – Ugly – very ugly.

Access to the seating near the finish line for the parent without the wristband was only by requesting a duplicate band at the venue – problem being the list of names weren’t in alphabetical order, so each request took a few minutes – ugly

Seating near the finish line was about 100m away – far too far and there was supposed to be no access to the ground for parents although there were plenty on there. You had parents and friends walking up the stand where they handed out the medals – it was disorganised chaos.

For the last 3 months I had visions of watching Harry run into the MCG and up to the finish line – it was to be my proudest moment to date as a father, yet I was denied (as were others) because we were so far away.

Overall a great day – just soured at the end, although Harry would be none the wiser.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Melbourne Marathon – the day after

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    The CSV spreadsheet file only has the gun times, so that will include the time it took us to get across the start line. If you go into the link below, Multisport Australia web site you’ll see your net (chip) time too. Your gun time was 54:05, but your net time was 53:19, which is pretty close to your watch (if I remember properly).

    Did you get the Sun today? If so did you notice my mug in that photo of the start? I think it’s been photo-shopped in though, cos I don’t remember any of the people it looks like I’m standing near.

  2. How much did you pay for that:-)

    2nd row middle!

  3. morseyruns says:

    That is a shame about trying to match up the parents and kids! I cannot think of a job I would like to do less. Sounds like Harry will be running your race next year anyway;)

    • lol – the child was with the parent – the problem was there were 600 children and 600 parents going through one gate with one person checking them!

      Next year Harry could pace for me.

  4. Scarlett says:

    I love the new header! Brilliant 😀

    It is a shame about the kids one, but at least if enough people put in feedback they can up the ante like they did this year as opposed to last year with a lot of the timing, congestion and other stuff.

    Have you seen the new Garmin 410? I don’t really give a shit about it much, but this means the 405 will become cheaper, yay!

    • Glad you like the header – took it at the 8k mark – I had always intended to take one from there, but in truth I needed a breather.

      I have seen the 410, but I prefer my 310XT – just a personal choice. The AU $ is nearly on par with the US $, might be worth looking overseas for it -you may get a bargain

Leave a Reply

