Melbourne Marathon eve

Well the last 3 weeks have seen virtually no exercise at all due to my thigh injury. Today I decided to do a cycle class just to get the legs moving in anticipation for tomorrow’s Melbourne Marathon. Once completed I thought it might be a good idea to jump on the treadmill and test out my thigh. The last thing I wanted was to start tomorrows race and pull up within a couple of k.

I decided to just run at a comfortable pace for about 10 – 15 mins and covered up the kph screen with my towel. I ran very easily and whilst I knew that I had a recent injury, it really didn’t bother me. At 3 k I decided that was enough and when I removed the towel, I’d completed 3k in 13:30 minutes! 4:30 minute k’s! I’m kind of pleased but also wary of the inaccuracies of the treadmills in the gym.

Two hours later and I feel great and can’t wait until tomorrow.

As stated before I’m wearing a T shirt james Ellis sent me from the UK – 1095 miles.com. He ran 3 miles (5k) every day for a whole year – no injury time off, wedding day, holiday etc – magnificent effort.

This will be me tomorrow – with a black cap on to cover my scone! If you see me say hi;

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Melbourne Marathon eve

  1. Andrew says:

    4.5 minute k’s! It’ll be me trying to keep up with you!

  2. morseyruns says:

    Great confidence booster prior to tomorrow- good luck and I hope you have a great run!

  3. JH says:

    Good luck for tomorrow

  4. Neil Lock says:

    Good luck mate – enjoy!

Leave a Reply

