Do Runners Shrink?

In the UK they call them trainers – here we call them runners. I won’t harp on about my love affair with my Brooks runners, but I recently retired my “red” Trance 9’s and only use them around the house or in the garden.

I haven’t been running much lately (that’s a complete lie – I haven’t run at all) so I know my feet aren’t expanding but I’ve noticed that my toes are really close to the front of my “red” runners. The blue Trance 9’s are the exact same shoe and size and yet I do not have the same problem with them. What gives? My Brooks Adrenalin’s are a half size larger due to the narrowing at the front, but the old “reds” are really uncomfortable in comparison. I may need to bin them.

Only 4 more sleeps to MM and my lack of running is starting to make me nervous – I want to be super positive but I’m also a realist, so I know it’s going to be really tough for me. Hopefully Andrew won’t leave me for dead too early! Can you wait until after the start??

Hopefully I can catch up with a few of my blogger friends – I know Scarlett and Andrew will be there – Sara is also doing the half – be nice to meet you also – I’ll be wearing the distinctive T – I’ll post it on Saturday!

Off to Brisbane, Coloundra, Gatton and Toowoomba tomorrow morning – 28c and 90% humidity -gotta love this country – only today in Melbourne we had storms, thunder and lightning.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do Runners Shrink?

  1. ajh says:

    If I do go out fast, I think I’m going to die in the are about half way, so you’ll probably pass me walking at about the 6km marker. 🙂

  2. Yea I’ll pass you – probably in an ambulance!

Leave a comment