Grand Final Draw

Today was  our grand final – the equivalent =super bowl in the US, fa cup in the UK – and it ended in a draw which means they have to do it all again next week.

It used to be the VFL ( Victorian Football League) until they took it nationally and it’s now known as the AFL – Australian Football League or aussie rules.

You either barrack (support) for Collingwood or hate them – I on the other hand do not support any side since Fitzoy disbanded, but I wanted Collingwood to win.

I was fired up as I do not like St Kilda (Collingwoods opponents in the Grand Final) as they are full of players that are of interest to the local constabulary.

A draw was the right result in the end, although Collingwood should have wrapped the game up before half time and in the end were lucky to get a draw.

Running wise, it’s nine days since my last run and my thigh is numb – the internet synopsis says it’s a trapped nerve in my spine, but I’ll wait for my GP’s view – I’m getting pretty peeved at the situation and just want to have a small run – any run will do!. MM is only 2 weeks away and I’m ill prepared.

To be honest, I don’t know if I’ll ever run again – I feel like this is the end and I’ll be incapacitated for life – I’m getting so depressed about it – I just want to run, run, run!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Grand Final Draw

  1. Andrew says:

    I’d be getting myself to a good sports doctor, unless you have a really good GP. Today was a let-down, wasn’t it!

  2. You know of any good sports doc? Today left me a bit flat – it needs to be concluded on the day I think.

  3. Scarlett says:

    Don’t feel like it’s the end. This could be the beginning of something new. Whatever it is, allow it to happen and trust that your body is doing what is right for you 🙂

  4. Neil Lock says:

    Chin up buddy, don’t get too disheartened yet, as Andrew says time to go see a physio, make sure you see one who has an athletics background otherwise they may just say give up running!

    will be watching this space to see how things go for you!

    Neil

Leave a Reply

