Perks

Some of the perks about being a Frequent Flyer with Qantas revolve around free membership of the “Club” – preferred check in desk – extra baggage -upgrades etc, but it’s been a while since I’ve travelled at peak hour. They now have a Platignum and Gold member line to go through security, which was empty, while the “others” were in a queue 200 deep. I felt like a celebrity!

Well I could’ve travelled a lot lighter if I hadn’t packed all my running gear – but I guess that’s blind faith for you! My thigh is feeling a heap better, but there’s no way I could run on it – I’m taking it softly softly.

I booked my accommodation at the weekend and needed a central location in the west of Sydney and found Quest in Rosehill -right opposite the racecourse- they had 1 room left for $118 a night (heavily discounted apparently), so I thought “what the hell” it’s only for me; how bad could it be?  For $118 it’s a steal- it is a two storey unit with the lounge and kitchen downstairs and the bedroom and bathroom upstairs – it’s also fully self contained.

A far cry from the $200+ per night I usually pay in the city, but then again it’s a fair way from the city, Opera House and the Sydney Harbour Bridge.

Another busy day again tomorrow and flying home tomorrow night.

Celebrations are in order the Hammers won away for the first time in a year, albeit in the Carling Cup 2-1 against Sunderland – and I’m embarrassed to say that I do not recognise either of the two scorers!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

