Runless Again

Four days in a row now and my leg doesn’t appear to be getting any better -this is so frustrating. I now have 93km in 10 days to hit the 150km target for the month. Whilst that’s achievable, it’s probably too much without any rest and only 10 days to MM after that.

In truth I would have struggled today anyway as Michelle is in Sydney and will be until Wednesday evening, when it’s my turn to fly up to the Harbour City.

I have just dropped my brother off at the airport – he’s off back to the UK after being here for 18 days – in that time he’s been to Sydney twice, Cairns, The Great Barrier Reef, a rainforest and of course Melbourne. He’s looking to come back with his 2 boys next year or the year after.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Brother in OZ, Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Runless Again

  1. Andrew(AJH) says:

    Sorry to hear your injury is still persisting. Maybe time for some professional advice? Certainly don’t stress over the 150km goal thing, better to rest up for MM IMHO. I assume you’ve been icing etc?

  2. Thanks Andrew – trying to Ice as often as possible, but I keep moving around and twist with it – the 150km is out of the window for September -I’ve come to that realisation.

  3. Scarlett says:

    I know it’s not what you want to hear but my running friend just gave me this advice- perhaps you should lessen or stop trying to do the 150km in the whole month, as it could lead to overuse or further injury? I’ve had to give away the last 10kms in my 50k for the month. It’s SO FRUSTRATING cos I got so close! But better to know I was close and try again than give myself something to really regret.
    Maybe just make it 130kms or something? Not sure, but take care of yourself as I’m very sure you’re doing anyway 🙂

    • Thanks Scarlett, the 150k per month is really all my planner suggests – Running only 5 days per week for 45 minutes gets me 8-9k x 20 days per month and I should do 150k easily and that excludes my one long run for the week -usually 12-15k

      I think my injury is due to my Sydney trip where I only had 1 run in a week and the next time I ran it was for 3 consecutive days for 15, 12 and 10k. Should have just eased into it.

Leave a Reply

