Running Season?

I rarely see other runners when I run, mainly due to the times that I run. I tend to run very early in the morning or early evening when the rest of the Melbourne is getting home from work. One of the benefits of working from home.

I left home at 6:00pm for a distance/time that was unplanned (today is supposed to be my rest day) and headed north uphill again for 3.8k into a gentle breeze.  Once I had crossed over to the East side of Glenroy and near the Northern Golf Club (Sewell Reserve on the map) – there were runners everywhere; mainly men but I did see a couple of ladies together.

Is this due to the spring? or are they always there? I know the gym membership ramps up when the mornings become lighter and the weather improves, does the same apply to runners?

Less than 4 weeks to MM and even after the Sydney set back, I feel I’m where I need to be – 8-10k runs are norm nowadays and longer runs are becoming enjoyable. I also need to be mindful of a busy work/travel schedule over the next 3 weeks and the greater humidity and heat of Sydney, Brisbane, Caloundra and Bundaberg is going to be a challenge. Hopefully I can limit these trips to 1 to 2 days and use one of them as a rest day.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running Season?

  1. Scarlett says:

    Less than 4 weeks. Aaaargh! Great going with keeping up the running schedule even with all of that travel.

Leave a Reply

