Crime and Punishment

I’m a strong advocate of “do the crime, do the time” – not like our namby pamby judicial system – real crime = real time.

So after waking this morning at 6:30 am after dreaming of a long run, I decided I needed to punish myself. I felt I’d let myself down with this past week’s lack of running and I needed to pay- big time. So I threw the plan out the window and made sure I wasn’t going to take it easy. Although I had 2 breaks, one for a drink at the 9km  and the other at 14km for the train at Oak Park, I was really pleased with 5:20 min/k pace, especially with a fair amount of it up hill and into the breeze.

I was going to run hard for as long as I could with the only restraint being able to get home in time to take Harry to tennis. In retrospect I would probably have covered 20-25 km’s without it. I know it’s easy after the event, but I still feel ok.

After the first couple of km’s the stiffness went from my legs and I was running freely. Only at the 3 km mark did the mind try convincing me take it easy – I was running up hill into a strong breeze for nearly 4km’s at the time, so I guess it’s understandable.

BTW – the dream had me running really smoothly for hundreds of km’s much like a kangaroo, but to conserve energy I only used one leg at a time! I had a hanky/towel tucked into my shorts much like a fast bowler (cricket) that flailed behind me like a huge white flag – not sure what to read into that.

Thanks for all the birthday wishes and now the countdown is on – I have exactly one year to break 50 minutes for 10km before my 50th birthday.

Lastly, this week James Ellis (World of James on my blog list) sent me a great quality running tee shirt from the UK, with his website address on it – I’m going to wear it on Melbourne Marathon day – so if you see this please say hello!

This is the back:

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Crime and Punishment

  1. Andrew says:

    I’ve decided that from next year I’m going to adopt the “run 10km under your age in minutes” goal every year.

    Do you still want to tee up an warily morning run one morning?

  2. Andrew says:

    Sorry that was meant to be early not warily, iPad keyboard!

  3. Absolutely! – just need to work around the family’s movements – Thursday this week is good for me. Anytime/place your call – email me details -thanks

Leave a Reply

