Happy Birthday To Me!

My birthday means another no run day. Up early for work and late home means a birthday meal and a celebratory drink or two. I know I have a choice, but I can’t run on a full stomach and kids really look forward to the birthday cake. I am so far behind my km target and feel like a real loser.

Message to myself: PICK YOUR GAME UP

Chelle offered to buy me a new pair of runners for my birthday as my Trance 9’s (red) had lost their cushioning/support. So I had a bit of spare time and ducked down to “Active Feet” in Prahran for a gait analysis.

I’d always thought that the Brook’s Trances were the best runner for me and after the analysis it was proven correct, although I was probably borderline with the Adrenaline. My left ankle overpronates moderately apparently! I tried on these in the past and always felt my big toe pushed too much on the inside, but they convinced me to an extra half shoe size would do the trick.

So I plumped for them and at $195 with the $25 discount from the Melbourne Marathon, I probably saved Chelle around $30, although she needs to pay me back.

Whilst on the “Active Feet” topic – could they get the text any smaller on their website? and don’t expect to do any deals with them, they wont budge. They wanted $280 for the yellow Trance 9’s which came out last December and have since been superseded by the blues.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Family, Running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Happy Birthday To Me!

  1. neillock says:

    holly crap you wear an expensive pair of shoes!! i think the last pair of adrenaline’s i purchase a few months ago at about £50. thats mental!

    happy birthday dude, enjoy it 🙂

  2. They’re the cheapest pair I’ve bought in about 2 years. Unfortunately, that’s what you have to pay here for a decent set of runners.

    Thanks, I will – re my birthday – beer number 2 please!

  3. ajh says:

    Happy Birthday mate, birthdays are a guilt free day off in my opinion!

  4. Scarlett says:

    Happy birthday! Agreed, birthdays are totally considered off-calendar regarding exercise and everything else. I really want a new pair of shoes, I’ve become a convert to Asics, specifically Kayano.

    I hope you’ve had a great day, this next year for you is going to be awesome!

Leave a Reply

