Mad Dogs and Englishmen

Brother and I flew up to Sydney yesterday for five days and I haven’t had a run for the past three. My planner stipulates an 11k run yesterday and a 40 minute easy run today.

Woke up early and far too hungry for a run so we had breakfast and jumped on the ferry to manly and walked around the city until midday.

I needed a run badly so at 12:00 I headed out for either an 11k hard or 40 minute easy. It was so hot it turned out to be only 8k’s run hard with a heap of stops to take photo’s, avoid the pedestrians and the traffic.

I headed north up to the rocks and then onto the Sydney harbour Bridge. I doubled back once I’d reached the other side and ran around the outside of Circular Quay to avoid the people and around the back of the Opera House and through the Botannical Gardens, across the city back to the hotel.

I’m not sure what to make of the stats and the watch was going off like a xmas tree. When I was close to the city, I kept losing the satelites. The elevations were a bit out of whach, at about the 7k mark it reckoned that I climbed 60 metres within 30 metres!

Have to get up early tomrrow to avoid the traffic and get some decent photos – I tried to get my face in with the bridge and Opera house, but I forgot to smile!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

