Easy Run

Decided on an easy run tonight and headed up the hill to Glenroy – 4km ( a new route) with an incline all the way. Whilst most hills tend to even out I have the same old problem with this run. I never seem to benefit from the declines as they are so short and steep. I dropped 20m in a matter of 200m at the end of my run to compensate for 3-4k uphills?

I’ve started to notice that my “easy” runs are only 15-20 seconds per k slower than my tempo runs which at my pace is less than 10% difference. Surely it can’t make that much difference?

Got pulled over by the police right at the end of my run, who were looking for  a guy in black – lucky for me I had grey shorts on!

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Easy Run

  1. ajh says:

    How come you tend to run along the streets rather than the Moonee Ponds Creek Trail? Is it because of the mad cyclists?

  2. Yep – especially ones from Greenvale! I tend to like the loop rather than the up and back along the same route. I should explore the trail more as it’s easier on the knees. Had a look a few weeks ago to running north and halfway coming into the roads around Broady or Glenroy but couldn’t find one suitable for the distance.

Leave a Reply

