All in the Family – Running

Two things happened today that ensured that all of us in our family had a run today:

  1. Chelle’s planner dictates an 11 minute run – the first Sunday run, which she did without stopping and covered 1.6k’s or a mile in the old
  2. Sam, feeling left out, requested an 84k run! I was I tad tired after my 8k run prior, so we compromised on a gentle 300m in 2 minutes

Harry and I completed his 4k in 23:41, a personal best for him and I continued after with another comfortable 4k, which also brought up 150k’s for the month.

My goals of running a race in every capital city within 5 years led me to the Sri Chinmoy race series. Chelle, Harry and I are already registered for the Maribyrnong 4km 17/10/10.

The Sprint Triathlon and the Joyathon both hold a great deal of interest for next year.The sprint entails (for me) Swim 200 metres, Cycle 7 km, Run 2 km and the Joyathon for Harry :Swim 80 metres, Cycle 3.5 km, Run 800 m – these are held in October in Canberra on and around the Lake Burley Griffin. I’d like to build up to the “classic” distance which is in the Olympics – Swim 1.5 km, Cycle 40 km, Run 10 km. The cycle and run hold no fears but the swim leg is way out of reach at the moment.

It’s Sunday afternoon and I’m kicking back with great bottle of red. Been a while since I’ve had a nice one and this one I’d highly recommend, very fruity with a dark red complexion and a rich blackcurrant flavour (sound like a connoisseur!)  :

Coriole -Shiraz- 2006 – made in Mclaren Vale SA  – problem is I only bought one bottle!

Day off tomorrow  – might do a cycle class or another easy run – I just can’t stop.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All in the Family – Running

  1. Scarlett says:

    I would love to do a mini tri! I think the distances you’re covering, I could definitely do. But it’s in Canberra, alas. A proper tri is actually one of my major goals, but swimming out in the ocean is something that sort of freaks me out a bit.

    And congrats on the family run 🙂 Sounds like Sam might be the next Dean Karnazes! Haha.

  2. Ha! Sam – what’s wrong with Canberra? I know it’s hardly party town, but we’re only there for the race and the swim leg is in the lake. The sprint tri and up are all recognized as proper distances.

  3. Andrew(AJH) says:

    I did a few sprint distance triathlons and the BRW Corporate triathlon a couple of years back. I was a fairly steady pool swimmer, but found the ocean swim scary and nearly drowned (seriously) once.

Leave a Reply

