11k long run

Saturdays are my long run and I had 11k to do on my plan, so at 6:15 this morning I mapped out the distance approximately on MapMyRun and headed off.

I’ve mentioned before about the hills around where I live and it’s becoming apparent that the further the long runs go the longer they are. I usually have a choice on any run greater than 8k and that is: do I start my run or do I finish it with a 3-4k incline. I tend to want to get it out of the way early so that the rest of run is relatively flat and I can get some nice rhythm going.

Today was no different except the incline was for 4.3k and I spent the next 2k recovering. Around the 7k mark I stopped at milk bar and grabbed a small can of “V”. From here I only had 4k to go and was enjoying it until I hit South and West Streets corner. I’d never run this route before and I had to stop to eye up my options. My mind said that by going left, I’d be running further away from home, so I opted for “right” – Wrong! About 600m up I realised that I’d gone the wrong way and as the Northern Golf club was between me and my destination, I had no choice but to continue.

My 11k ended up at 13k and gave me a huge amount of confidence knowing that I could still have gone on and that the Half is well within my grasp in under 2 hours.

Easy run tomorrow with Harry for 4k and 3-4k alone and I’m trying to encourage Sam (4 yrs old) to come on a 200m jog with me.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 11k long run

  1. Scarlett says:

    I’d always start my run with the incline. Gets the heart pumping, the warm up happening faster, and you ALWAYS appreciate it at the end of the run! BTW, how does your body handle V when you’re running? Unless I’ve stopped and am stretching and slowing down I find putting anything in my body makes me feel ill.

  2. The only reason I go for the V is the size – I couldn’t drink a 600ml water and I can’t be bothered carrying it. As far as the hills are concerned I never seem to get the benefit of the down hills. I always have a 3-4k up hill, but rarely a 3-4k downhill.

Leave a Reply

