5k Personal Best -Just?

I decided to go for a run tonight and had time to do only 5k before Chelle went to Matrix. It is a mildish night with only a little wind and I ran the first 2k’s in under 10 minutes and was feeling good. K’s3 & 4 were more of a challenge as they were predominately uphill – about a 20m incline over the 2 k’s.

Heart rate monitor seems a bit out of whack – max at 246bpm! and average 178, but as I’ve noted in the Tech page – it’s a little erratic at times.

At the 4k buzz i had a quick look and calculated that I needed a sub 5min to beat my PB of 25:12 for 5k. I was hurting now and pushed myself hard. There is a slight delay after you hit the “k” markers and the buzz. I hit the stop button on the buzz and looked at the watch and realised I’d missed my PB by 2 seconds, but I’d actually ran a tad further than 5k. Not sure on the difference between the moving and elapsed time as I certainly didn’t stop.

Yesterday I showed you the “inumbers” for mac and my running log and charts. Anyway, I entered the data of my run and lo and behold the average pace was actually quicker than my previous PB by 204 milliseconds per k. Times that by 5k and you should get 1.04 seconds faster. I’m still trying to rationalise it as it doesn’t seem right somehow. Top row was my previous PB and the bottom row was tonight’s.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 5k Personal Best -Just?

  1. Andrew says:

    I was going to get the iWork suite for the iPad but ended up getting DocsToGo instead. Might still buy Numbers just to have a play.

  2. Numbers is cool but it’s not a replacement for excel. From an Ipad POV, is DocsToGo compatible with excel etc? can you generate formulas and pivot tables etc?

Leave a Reply

