iRunning

For those that do not know, I use a Macintosh and from what I’ve seen, quite a few runners do also – at least 60% of visitors to my blog use a Mac. Anyway, today I subscribed to a 30 day free trial of “iworks”. I’ve seen a few demos and it looked pretty cool.

As I love working with numbers, I opened “numbers” and found a neat exercise template. these are my stats:

It also has one for multiple exercises – these are samples, not mine!:

It’s pretty neat, but I could generate something in excel just as easy. What is cool is that everything you see here is clickable and usable (columns, rows, charts etc)  it’s also dynamic and changes as you exit the cell, so you don’t have to keep adjusting the series tabs like you do in excel. It’s a sort of cross between MS excel and Access and has an attraction to me. Might give in depth review at the end of the 30 day trial.

It claims it’s compatible with excel, but the truth is only to a point – I opened a spreadsheet that had pivot tables and some relatively simple formulae – the pivot table in ‘numbers’ is converted to raw data and the formulae like index/match/sumproduct all come across as just numbers without any dependants.

On the run side, I was supposed to miss out today, but I finished work early and got in a tough 7.2k – 3k into the wind and uphill to start. I now have 32k to get to 150k for the month – Fri -6.8, Sat -11, Sun 8, Tue 7 – If I end up running tomorrow, it’ll be a breeze.

For Scarlett, here is the T shirt I’ll be wearing at the MM 10k:

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

