Weather Permitting

Bloody rain – I’m already staring at an enforced break from running tomorrow, because Chelle’s off to Sydney at 5:30am and back at 8:00pm. So I had a few choices:

  • Run in torrential rain – I like the rain, but tonight was ridiculous
  • Wait until it stops – 8:00pm still no let up
  • Go to the gym, treadmill: Sorry I can’t (don’t want to) do 8k’s on a treadmill or intervals
  • Go to gym, cycle class: I struggle with the lady that takes the class
  • Have a beer!

All I really wanted to do was run a nice gentle 8km, but you’ve probably already guessed my choice – The second one is tasting better than the first!

At least one of the family ran today – Chelle. She had her first type of interval today – Run for 6mins at about 8kmph, then walk for 5mins then another 6mins at 8kmph. The run part equates to about 800m each (1.6km in total) so I set the Garmin at 800m intervals to assist her. Problem being she ran much faster than was required. 5:21 and 5:12 minutes per 800m instead of 6:00. Spot on pace for her Maribyrnong run.

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

