If the cap fits….

I usually run in my West Ham Utd cap – it’s a cotton one much like the other 30 or so most people seem to acquire over the years. Whilst it’s relatively comfortable, my head sweats a lot (no hair to sponge it up!) and it soaks the cap to the point where it starts leaking into my eyes. Plus I get the unsightly sweat stains on it.

So yesterday we went to DFO to look for a cool Brooks cap that I’d seen in Performance Sports in Highpoint, but was unwilling to pay $45 for it.

The Brooks shop in South Wharf is bordering on a joke. No caps and the runners are way over priced and out of date. My Trance 9’s cost $230 and they wanted $189 for Trance 7’s, they’d be 2 years old at least.

So went two shops up to the 2XU store and bought a black nylon cap for $25 – I could get the same price on their web page -just proves to me that the DFO’s are not any cheaper than the mainstream outlets. It’s the sort that has part of it in a mesh type material.

On my run this evening, I didn’t need to remove it once as the cool air seemed to whisk it away and did not have any sweat running into my eyes – well worth the price in my opinion.

This week my plans are again changed due to Michelle going to Sydney for the day. Today is normally my rest day but I’ve swapped it for Wednesdays 40 minute tempo run.

I covered 8.2k in just over 40 minutes and leads me to question the plans laid out for me. I have a 40 minute tempo run for 8.2k, an easy 40minute run for 7k and my long run at only 10k. Seems a little out of whack to me.

Chelle’s on week 5 now – where did that go? – and this morning she had a 9 minute continuous run over 1.3k.  She has 7 weeks to go before the Maribyrnong 4k and at today’s pace she’s only going to be 1 minute off her target (26 minutes)

About offthelongrun

Born in the UK in 1961 - I migrated to Australia in 1991. I've never been overweight, but I drink and eat too much and probably run too much nowadays!
This entry was posted in Running. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

